School term and holiday dates in NT

In the Northern Territory (NT), most government schools follow the same term dates.

If your child attends a non-government school, check the term dates with the school.

Current term dates

In 2022, urban and remote schools have different start and finish dates. Check if your child attends an urban or remote school.

Below are the school term dates for 2022.

TermStartFinish
Term 1

Urban schools - Monday 31 January

  • For teachers, Friday 28 January

Remote schools (except Gunbalanya School) - Tuesday 1 February

  • For teachers, Monday 31 January
Friday 8 April
Term 2 Tuesday 19 April Friday 24 June
Term 3

Tuesday 19 July

  • For teachers, Monday 18 July
Friday 23 September
Term 4 Monday 10 October Urban schools - Thursday 15 December

Remote schools - Friday 16 December

Gunbalanya School has flexible term dates to recognise activities in the community:

Below are the printable school calendars for 2022:

Future term dates

From 2023 to 2027, urban and remote schools will have the same start and finish dates.

Below are the school term dates for the next 5 years.

TermStartFinish
Term 1

Tuesday 31 January

  • For teachers, Monday 30 January
Thursday 6 April
Term 2 Monday 17 April Friday 23 June
Term 3

Tuesday 18 July

  • For teachers, Monday 17 July
Friday 22 September
Term 4 Monday 9 October Friday 15 December

Gunbalanya School operate on a flexible school year and separate consultation occurs to determine school term dates.

TermStartFinish
Term 1

Tuesday 30 January

  • For teachers, Monday 29 January
Friday 5 April
Term 2 Monday 15 April Friday 21 June
Term 3

Tuesday 16 July

  • For teachers, Monday 15 July
Friday 20 September
Term 4 Monday 7 October Friday 13 December

Gunbalanya School operate on a flexible school year and separate consultation occurs to determine school term dates.

TermStartFinish
Term 1

Wednesday 29 January

  • For teachers, Tuesday 28 January
Friday 4 April
Term 2 Monday 14 April Friday 20 June
Term 3

Tuesday 15 July

  • For teachers, Monday 14 July
Friday 19 September
Term 4 Monday 6 October Friday 12 December

Gunbalanya School operate on a flexible school year and separate consultation occurs to determine school term dates.

TermStartFinish
Term 1

Wednesday 28 January

  • For teachers, Tuesday 27 January
Thursday 2 April
Term 2 Monday 13 April Friday 19 June
Term 3

Tuesday 14 July

  • For teachers, Monday 13 July
Friday 18 September
Term 4 Monday 5 October Friday 11 December

Gunbalanya School operate on a flexible school year and separate consultation occurs to determine school term dates.

TermStartFinish
Term 1

Wednesday 27 January

  • For teachers, Monday 25 January
Friday 2 April
Term 2 Monday 12 April Friday 18 June
Term 3

Tuesday 13 July

  • For teachers, Monday 12 July
Friday 17 September
Term 4 Monday 4 October Friday 10 December

Gunbalanya School operate on a flexible school year and separate consultation occurs to determine school term dates.

Public holidays

Get a list of NT public holidays.

Other states and territories

For school term dates in other states and territories, go to the Australian Government website.


Last updated: 01 September 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!