NT public holidays

Public and regional holidays for the Northern Territory (NT) are listed below. Regional holidays are held in the regions on their annual show days.

Public holidays

From December 2016, the following days and times will be observed as public holidays for employment purposes:

  • Christmas Eve, 24 December - 7pm to midnight
  • New Year's Eve, 31 December - 7pm to midnight.

When Christmas Day (25 December) or New Year's Day (1 January) fall on weekends, those days and the following Mondays will be public holidays.

When Boxing Day (26 December) falls on a Saturday, the following Monday is the public holiday. If Boxing Day falls on a Sunday or Monday, the following Tuesday is the public holiday.

For more information about your obligations, rights and entitlements regarding public holidays, go to the Australian Government's Fair Work Ombudsman website.

2020 Boxing Day public holiday

For 2020, there is a public holiday for Saturday 26 December and Monday 28 December.

New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January Friday 1 January Saturday 1 January and Monday 3 January Sunday 1 January and Monday 2 January
Australia Day Monday 27 January Tuesday 26 January Wednesday 26 January Thursday 26 January
Good Friday Friday 10 April Friday 2 April Friday 15 April Friday 7 April
Easter Saturday Saturday 11 April Saturday 3 April Saturday 16 April Saturday 8 April
Easter Monday Monday 13 April Monday 5 April Monday 18 April Monday 10 April
Anzac Day Saturday 25 April Monday 26 April Monday 25 April Tuesday 25 April
May Day Monday 4 May Monday 3 May Monday 2 May Monday 1 May
Queen's Birthday Monday 8 June Monday 14 June Monday 13 June Monday 12 June
Picnic Day Monday 3 August Monday 2 August Monday 1 August Monday 7 August
Christmas Eve

part-day holiday
7pm to midnight
Thursday 24 December Friday 24 December Saturday 24 December Sunday 24 December
Christmas Day Friday 25 December Saturday 25 December and Monday 27 December Sunday 25 December and Monday 26 December Monday 25 December
Boxing Day Saturday 26 December and Monday 28 December Tuesday 28 December Tuesday 27 December Tuesday 26 December
New Year's Eve
part-day holiday
7pm to midnight
Thursday 31 December Friday 31 December  Saturday 31 December  Sunday 31 December

Regional holidays

Public holiday2020202120222023
Borroloola Show Day
Friday 14 August Friday 20 August Friday 19 August Friday 18 August
Alice Springs Show Day
Friday 3 July Friday 2 July Friday 1 July Friday 7 July
Tennant Creek Show Day
Friday 10 July Friday 9 July Friday 8 July Friday 14 July
Katherine Show Day
Friday 17 July Friday 16 July Friday 15 July Friday 21 July
Darwin Show Day
Friday 24 July Friday 23 July Friday 22 July Friday 28 July

Check which public holiday applies to you on the map of NT show day regions.

NT public holidays are administered by the Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet.

To find out more, go to the Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet website.

Last updated: 27 November 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.