Kidney and renal services

Royal Darwin Hospital renal unit

The renal ward in Royal Darwin Hospital is on the 7th floor and has three areas:

  • 14 bed ward
  • haemodialysis unit
  • transplant unit.

The six chair haemodialysis unit caters for acute, chronic and end stage renal failure patients. As well as acute admissions, it caters for plasma exchange, inpatient dialysis, introduction and education for new patients, and cares for patients with complex medical and/or social issues needing intensive multidisciplinary involvement. 

The transplant unit cares for post-transplant patients and prepares patients for renal replacement.

The ward also provides the following services:

  • renal investigations
  • acute admissions
  • access problems
  • renal surgery
  • peritoneal dialysis
  • creation and revision of Arterio Venous Fistulas (AVF) 
  • insertion of temporary and tunnelled lines 
  • Tenckhoff catheter insertions.

Opening hours

The haemodialysis unit operates seven days a week from 7am to 9.30pm. 

There is also an after-hours on call service outside these hours.

Other support services

Within the renal medical team there is also:

  • a renal Indigneous liaison officer
  • renal care co-ordinator
  • renal social worker. 


Phone: (08) 8922 8400

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 12 May 2016

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!