Plan your Larapinta Trail walk

The Larapinta Trail, in the heart of Central Australia, runs over 230km along the spine of the West MacDonnell Ranges.

This long distance walking track is divided into 12 sections that each take one or two days to walk.

The trail has many highlights including Simpsons Gap, Ellery Creek Big Hole, Ormiston Gorge, Glen Helen and Mount Sonder.

The trail also links in with other walking tracks in the Tjoritja / West MacDonnell National Park, so you can take side trips to explore further.

The trail starts at the Alice Springs Telegraph Station and traverses a section of the West MacDonnell ranges to end at the summit of Mt Sonder, the highest point of the trail.

Most sections have vehicle access, though some need a 4WD with high clearance, so you can join or leave the trail at many of the trailheads.

Find out more about the Larapinta Trail.

Walking and camping fees

Fees apply to walk and camp in the Tjoritja / West MacDonnell National Park.

Book and pay online

You must book and pay your fees online. Do this before you go.

Find out more about how to use parks booking system.

If you are ready, book now.


There are 26 designated camp sites along the Larapinta Trail, including 2 private campgrounds on or near the trail.

You can create different itineraries to suit your plans. Set your own pace around what to see and do.

When camping you must:

  • camp only in designated camp sites
  • book a camp site for each night you plan to be on the trail.

The only exemption to camping outside designated ares is in the case of an emergency, injury or illness. Read camping outside of a designated area.

Designated campgrounds

Designated campgrounds are category B, unless otherwise listed, and are located at the following locations:

  • Brinkley Bluff
  • Counts Point
  • Ellery Creek Big Hole (Ellery Creek North)
  • Ellery Creek Big Hole (Ellery Creek South)
  • Finke River
  • Fringe Lily Creek
  • George Creek
  • Ghost Gum Flat
  • Hill Top Lookout
  • Hugh Gorge
  • Huge Gorge Junction
  • Jay Creek
  • Millers Flat
  • Mount Giles Lookout
  • Mulga Camp
  • Ormiston Gorge and Pound - category C campground
  • Redbank Gorge
  • Rocky Bay Gap
  • Rocky Gully
  • Section 4-5 Junction
  • Serpentine Chalet Dam
  • Serpentine Gorge
  • Simpsons Gap
  • Stuarts Pass
  • Wallaby Gap
  • Waterfall Gorge.

Find out more about the facilities and camping fees.

There are also privately owned and operated campgrounds at:

  • Standley Chasm
  • Glen Helen Lodge.

Last updated: 20 June 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!