Categories of waters

You should know what type of waters you will be operating your boat in because that determines the minimum safety equipment you must have. 

Read the Marine Safety guide

This includes the type of personal flotation device or life jacket, that you must carry on your recreational boat.

Inland waters

Inland waters includes non-tidal rivers, lakes, dams and billabongs.

Intermediate waters

Intermediate waters includes all tidal rivers, sheltered waters areas (see below) and all other coastal waters up to two nautical miles from the coastline.

Open waters

This means beyond intermediate waters.

For recreational and commercial boats

Sheltered waters

View the official sheltered waters in the NT in a larger map

All of the following are sheltered waters in Northern Territory by location:

  • Bathurst Island - Port Hurd, Gullala Creek, Perakery Creek
  • Boucaut Bay, Milingimbi Inlet and Castlereagh Bay
  • Bynoe Harbour
  • Cobourg Peninsula - Port Bremer and Raffles Bay
  • Dalywoi Bay
  • Gove Harbour
  • Haul Round Island
  • Junction Bay, Maningrida
  • Port Bradshaw
  • Port Essington, Cobourg
  • Port of Darwin - all waters landward of an imaginary line running approximately from Lee Point to Charles Point
  • Vanderlin Islands.

List of sheltered waters by area includes all inland waters and one nautical mile seawards from the mean low watermark on the coast,  including the coasts of islands.

Read the schedule of gazetted sheltered waters below. 

Schedule of gazetted sheltered waters (smooth and partially smooth waters): GN33 (pdf 40 kb)
Schedule of gazetted sheltered waters (smooth and partially smooth waters): GN33 (docx 63 kb)

Last updated: 21 February 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.