Lotteries and community gambling


There are three types of lotteries which can be run in the Northern Territory - foreign, community and trade lotteries.

Community gambling activities such as raffles, lotto, tipping competitions, bingo, Calcuttas and sweepstakes are also allowed.

They are all governed by the Gaming Control Act 1993 and the Gaming Control (Community Gaming) Regulations 2006, and administered by Licensing NT.

They also must follow the guidelines in the Code of Practice for Responsible Gambling.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 20 April 2016

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.