About hunting and shooting

You must have a permit to hunt for animals in the Northern Territory (NT).

There are two types of hunting permits available in the NT:

Animals you can hunt

The above permits allow you to legally hunt for the following animals: 

  • feral pigs
  • magpie geese
  • grey teal duck
  • pink-eared duck
  • hardhead duck - also called white-eye duck
  • maned duck - also called wood duck
  • wandering whistle duck - also called water whistle duck
  • plumed whistle duck - also called grass whistle duck
  • pacific black duck.

Hunting rules

There are restrictions about where and when you can hunt for these animals in the NT.

You should learn the rules about hunting practices in the NT, including which guns you can use.

Read more about:

Last updated: 26 March 2018