Moving and exporting livestock


If you want to import, export, or move all of the following animals within the Northern Territory (NT), you must meet the requirements of the Livestock Act and Livestock Regulations:

  • cattle and buffalo
  • horses, including mules and donkeys
  • sheep, goats and pigs
  • alpacas, camels and llamas
  • deer
  • bees
  • crocodiles.

There are no restrictions on moving poultry or pigeons.

Read the Livestock Act 2008. Read the Livestock Regulations 2009.

This section explains the different rules and regulations and how they apply to different kinds of livestock.

You should also read how to brand and identify livestock.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 01 February 2019


Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.