Marine turtles

In Northern Territory (NT) waters, there are 6 out of the 7 species of marine turtles found in the world. This includes:

  • green
  • olive ridley
  • hawksbill
  • leatherback
  • flatback
  • loggerhead.

These are all listed as threatened species.

Watching guidelines

There are guidelines available that promote the appropriate behaviour for all beach users.

These aim to help preserve marine turtles and their habitat.

They have been developed by:

  • the Parks and Wildlife Commission in the Department of Environment, Parks and Water Security
  • members of the NT tourism industry.

Read the marine turtle watching community guidelines.

Marine turtle watching community guidelines PDF (651.1 KB)
Marine turtle watching community guidelines DOCX (1.1 MB)

Last updated: 31 March 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!