NT public holidays

Public and regional holidays for the Northern Territory (NT) are listed below. Regional holidays are held in the regions on their annual show days.

Public holidays

From December 2016, the following days and times will be observed as public holidays for employment purposes:

  • Christmas Eve, 24 December - 7pm to midnight
  • New Year's Eve, 31 December - 7pm to midnight.

When Christmas Day (25 December) or New Year's Day (1 January) fall on weekends, those days and the following Mondays will be public holidays.

When Boxing Day falls on a Saturday, the following Monday is the public holiday. If Boxing Day falls on a Sunday or Monday, the following Tuesday is the public holiday.

Go to the Fairwork website for more information about your obligations, rights and entitlements regarding public holidays.

Public holiday 2018 2019 2020
New Year's Day Monday 1 January Tuesday 1 January Wednesday 1 January
Australia Day Friday 26 January Monday 28 January Monday 27 January
Good Friday Friday 30 March Friday 19 April Friday 10 April
Easter Saturday Saturday 31 March Saturday 20 April Saturday 11 April
Easter Monday Monday 2 April Monday 22 April Monday 13 April
Anzac Day Wednesday 25 April Thursday 25 April Saturday 25 April
May Day Monday 7 May Monday 6 May Monday 4 May
Queen's Birthday Monday 11 June Monday 10 June Monday 8 June
Picnic Day Monday 6 August Monday 5 August Monday 3 August
Christmas Eve
7pm - midnight
Monday 24 December Tuesday 24 December Thursday 24 December
Christmas Day Tuesday 25 December Wednesday 25 December Friday 25 December
Boxing Day Wednesday 26 December Thursday 26 December Monday 28 December
New Year's Eve
7pm to midnight
Monday 31 December Tuesday 31 December Thursday 31 December

Regional holidays

Public holiday201820192020

Borroloola Show Day

Friday 29 JuneFriday 28 JuneFriday 26 June

Alice Springs Show Day

Friday 6 JulyFriday 5 JulyFriday 3 July

Tennant Creek Show Day

Friday 13 JulyFriday 12 JulyFriday 10 July

Katherine Show Day

Friday 20 JulyFriday 19 JulyFriday 17 July

Darwin Show Day

Friday 27 JulyFriday 26 JulyFriday 24 July

Get a map of Northern Territory Show Day regions (1.4 mb).

NT public holidays are administered by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Employment (OCPE).

To find out more go to the OCPE website.

Last updated: 27 March 2018


Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.