NT public holidays

Public and regional holidays for the Northern Territory (NT) are listed below. Regional holidays are held for districts throughout the NT on their annual show days.

Public holidays

From December 2016, the following days and times will be observed as public holidays for employment purposes:

  • Christmas Eve, 24 December 2016 - 7pm to midnight
  • New Year's Eve, 31 December - 7pm to midnight.

When Christmas Day (December 25) and New Year's Day (January 1) fall on weekends, those days and the following Mondays will be public holidays.

When Boxing Day falls on a Saturday, the following Monday is the public holiday. If Boxing Day falls on a Sunday or Monday, the following Tuesday is the public holiday.

Go to the Fairwork website for more information about your obligations, rights and entitlements regarding public holidays.

Public holiday 2017 2018 2019 2020
New Year's Day Monday 2 January Monday 1 January Tuesday 1 January Wednesday 1 January
Australia Day Thursday 26 January Friday 26 January Monday 28 January Monday 27 January
Good Friday Friday 14 April Friday 30 March Friday 19 April Friday 10 April
Easter Saturday Saturday 15 April Saturday 31 March Saturday 20 April Saturday 11 April
Easter Monday Monday 17 April Monday 2 April Monday 22 April Monday 13 April
Anzac Day Tuesday 25 April Wednesday 25 April Thursday 25 April Saturday 25 April
May Day Monday 1 May Monday 7 May Monday 6 May Monday 4 May
Queen's Birthday Monday 12 June Monday 11 June Monday 10 June Monday 8 June
Picnic Day Monday 7 August Monday 6 August Monday 5 August Monday 3 August
Christmas Eve
7pm - midnight
Sunday 24 December Monday 24 December Tuesday 24 December Thursday 24 December
Christmas Day Monday 25 December Tuesday 25 December Wednesday 25 December Friday 25 December
Boxing Day Tuesday 26 December Wednesday 26 December Thursday 26 December Monday 28 December
New Year's Eve
7pm to midnight
Sunday 31 December Monday 31 December Tuesday 31 December Thursday 31 December

Regional holidays

Public holiday 2017

Borroloola Show Day

Friday 30 June

Alice Springs Show Day

Friday 7 July

Tennant Creek Show Day

Friday 14 July

Katherine Show Day

Friday 21 July

Darwin Show Day

Friday 28 July

Get a map of Northern Territory Show Day regions (1.4 mb).

NT public holidays are administered by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Employment (OCPE).

To find out more go to the OCPE website.

Last updated: 04 August 2017