Adopting a child from overseas

If you wish to adopt a child from overseas, you must meet the criteria of the country you want to adopt from.

Australia has an established legal arrangement with all of the following countries:

  • China
  • Taiwan
  • Hong Kong
  • Philippines 
  • Thailand
  • Columbia
  • Chile
  • Latvia
  • Poland
  • South Africa
  • Lithuania
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka.

To find out more about international adoption law go to the Hague Convention on Private International Law website.

For more information about adopting a child from overseas contact the Northern Territory Adoptions Unit.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 20 June 2018