Northern Territory Literary Awards

The annual Northern Territory Literacy Awards celebrate the achievements of a wide range of emerging writers.

2018 awards

The Northern Territory Literary Awards are now open and will close on Monday 30 April 2018. To enter online go to the Northern Territory Library website.

The winners of the 2018 Awards will be announced at a ceremony in Alice Springs on 24 July.

2017 awards

Winners of the 2017 awards were announced at a ceremony at Parliament House on 26 July.

Read the works of the winners and finalists (2.3 mb).

ZipPrint Short Story Award

Winner     Miranda Tetlow: This is where you come from

Shortlist          Romany Maunder: The Lemon Tree 
Zach Hope: The Creek
Ralph Folds: Tjamu Tjamu
A'Mhara McKey: Blood Memory

NT Writers' Centre Poetry Award

Winner Michael Giacometti: In the soft light of dawn

Shortlist    Lynelle Kendall: Monarch
Johanna Bell: I saw myself
Kaye Aldenhoven: Thai sweet and sour
Susan Fielding: Duck hunting on the Coolabah Swamp

Charles Darwin University Creative Non-Fiction Award

Winner Kylie Stevenson: Notes from a dying town

Shortlist    James Murray: My Conversation with Richard Fidler
Kaye Aldenhoven: A well told lie
Kate Leah Rendell: Re-reading country - A Settler Genealogy of Place
Julie U'Ren: An unsent letter from India

Charles Darwin University Essay Award

Winner Adelle Sefton-Rowston: Poetic Justice: a writer's response to graffiti in Don Dale's Youth
Detention Centre

Shortlist  Tom Lewis: Digging Down through Mayhem and Mystery - Japanese combat reports reveal
the human face of air war across the Top End
Tracey Diddams: Where would the NT News be without crocodiles? An analysis of human-
crocodile risks and portrayal of the risk by the NT News.

Kath Manzie Youth Award

Winner Sierra Haigh: Power Prey

Shortlist  Monique Coffey: A Reflection of Anguish
Danica Jenner: Teddy
Ella Spinks: The Real Victim

Southern Cross Flash Fiction Award

Winner Shona Ford: Dear Diary

Shortlist  Betty Lum: Whale Dreaming
Miranda Tetlow: Getting an education
Kate Leah Rendell: Skin
Miranda Tetlow: This is the way the world ends
James Murray: Lamb Chops
Matthew McKinlay: Forming the Common Intention

Brown’s Mart Theatre Award

Winner Lee Frank: Lured

Shortlist  Levin Diatschenko: The Undying Swan
Mary Anne Butler: The Sound of Waiting

Last updated: 28 March 2018