Vehicle safety

Safer cars mean less crashes and, in the event of a crash, less risk of death or serious injury.

Star rating

The Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) tests new vehicles and rates their safety from one to five stars indicating the level of safety a vehicle provides for occupants and pedestrians in the event of a crash.

Check the ANCAP star rating of a vehicle before you buy.


Driving a vehicle that is roadworthy is crucial to your safety and that of other road users.

Roadworthy vehicles must comply with standard vehicle requirements including wheels and tyres, steering, brakes, seatbelts, lamps and reflectors, exhaust and emission controls, windscreens and wipers and vehicle body and chassis.

In the Northern Territory, roadworthy inspections are required for new cars after five years, 10 years and then annually. Check if your car needs a roadworthy inspection.

Takata airbag - safety recall

The Australian Government announced a compulsory recall for all vehicles with defective Takata airbags in 2018.

Find out if your vehicle is part of this recall and if registration sanctions apply.

Buying a used vehicle

Before you buy a used vehicle from a private seller, be aware that it can come with some risk.

Find out what you should do when buying a used vehicle.

Last updated: 23 December 2021

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!