There are two subsidy schemes operating in the Northern Territory (NT) for people with a disability:

  • Taxi subsidy scheme
  • Lift incentive scheme.

Taxi subsidy scheme

This scheme provides eligible members with a subsidy of half of the taxi fare.

This means you can pay half of your taxi fare using an electronic smartcard. You then have to pay the other half of the taxi fare in cash, credit or debit card.

There are five categories of benefit: A, B, B-MPV, C and D. Eligibility for each category is based on a medical assessment.

Your application may be approved on a permanent or temporary basis depending on your disability or inability to use public transport.

If approved, you will be sent information about how the scheme works along with an electronic smartcard.

Members can travel throughout the NT.

Lift incentive scheme

This scheme provides you with 180 x $20 lift incentive credits per year for use in wheelchair accessible taxis and minibuses. This scheme is available for you if you:

  • hold the categories A or B-MPV
  • or have been assessed as requiring the use of a wheelchair accessible taxi or minibus.

Members who are in any other category and have become reliant on a wheelchair or other mobility device may apply to become a part of the lift incentive scheme.

The lift incentive is not part of the taxi fare, and is not transferable or redeemable for cash.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 27 June 2017