Transport subsidy schemes


There are two subsidy schemes operating in the Northern Territory (NT) for people with a disability.

Transport subsidy scheme

This scheme provides eligible members with a subsidy of half of the total fare.

This means you can pay half of your fare using an electronic smartcard. You then have to pay the other half of the taxi fare in cash, credit or debit card.

There are four categories of benefit: A, B, C and D. Eligibility for each category is based on a medical assessment.

Your application may be approved on a permanent or temporary basis depending on your disability or inability to use public transport.

If approved, you will be sent information about how the scheme works along with an electronic smartcard.

Members can travel throughout the NT.

Lift incentive scheme

This scheme provides you with 180 x $20 lift incentive credits per financial year for use in wheelchair accessible commercial passenger vehicles.

This scheme is available for you if you have been assessed as requiring the use of a wheelchair accessible vehicle.

Members who have become reliant on a wheelchair or other mobility device may apply to become a part of the lift incentive scheme.

The lift incentive is not part of the fare, and is not transferable or redeemable for cash.

More information

Get the NT transport subsidy scheme and lift incentive scheme information bulletin.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 06 July 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.