Communicating Across Languages training

Working with professional Aboriginal interpreters is the most effective way to make sure your Aboriginal clients understand you, and that they can fully express themselves.

The Aboriginal Interpreter Service offers training for service providers to improve communication with Aboriginal Territorians who do not speak English as a first language.

It gives organisations a better understanding of how to interact with people from culturally, conceptually and linguistically different backgrounds. 

You will:

  • find out how interpreters can be used in your field, and the benefits of doing so
  • gain practical knowledge of how to work effectively with an interpreter
  • learn how to arrange an interpreter through the Aboriginal Interpreter Service.

What the workshop covers

A standard workshop is 90 minutes and includes:

  • an introduction to how different languages work
  • an overview of Aboriginal languages spoken in the Northern Territory
  • why context is important in communication
  • how to avoid common areas of miscommunication
  • how to communicate in plain English
  • how to work with an interpreter effectively
  • practical tips for booking and using interpreters.

Sessions can be customised to suit your organisation's needs. This may involve a fee.

When the workshops are held

Free workshops are scheduled for the dates below.

DarwinKatherineAlice Springs

Monday 23 January
Monday 27 February
Monday 27 March
Monday 24 April
Monday 22 May
Monday 26 June
Monday 24 July
Monday 21 August
Monday 25 September
Monday 23 October
Monday 27 November

Tuesday 31 January
Tuesday 28 March
Tuesday 30 May
Tuesday 25 July
Tuesday 26 September
Tuesday 28 November

Monday 16 January
Monday 20 February
Monday 20 March
Monday 17 April
Monday 15 May
Monday 19 June
Monday 17 July
Monday 21 August
Monday 18 September
Monday 16 October
Monday 20 November
Monday 18 December

Free sessions are also offered during visits to remote communities.

Legal workshops

Legal workshops for professionals working with interpreters in legal settings are held in Darwin on the following dates:

Thursday 19 January
Thursday 16 February
Thursday 16 March
Thursday 20 April
Thursday 18 May
Thursday 15 June
Thursday 20 July
Thursday 17 August
Thursday 19 September
Thursday 19 October
Thursday 16 November

Off-site sessions

Training sessions at your organisation can be tailored to address the needs or challenges of your organisation or profession. Fees apply.

How to book

For on-site and remote session bookings contact ais@nt.gov.au.

For off-site sessions fill in the online training request form.

Last updated: 27 June 2017