Property taxes

When you acquire property, you will need to pay tax on the transaction.

This is paid to your state or territory government.

Stamp duty

In the Northern Territory (NT) when you acquire property, you have to pay stamp duty.

Read more about stamp duty.

Land tax

There is no land tax in the NT.

There is land tax in all other Australian states or territories.

For more information about land tax, go to the Australian Government's Business website.

Last updated: 29 October 2020

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!