Role of the Parole Board

The Parole Board of the Northern Territory is an independent statutory body established under the Parole Act 1971.

It plays an important role in the NT criminal justice system, making decisions about youth and adult prisoners, and prisoners who are serving a sentence of life imprisonment for murder.

Board members

The board has 18 members.

The Chairperson of the Parole Board is the Chief Justice of the Northern Territory or their nominee.

The board is made up of:

  • the Chief Justice or another judge of the Supreme Court nominated by the Chief Justice
  • the Commissioner of Correctional Services
  • two police officers nominated by the Commissioner of Police
  • two health professionals, who must be either:
    • a medical practitioner
    • or a registered Health Practitioner who practices psychology
  • two people who represent the interests of victims of crime
  • 10 people who represent the community, including women and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.

Go to the Parole Board website to find out more information.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 16 December 2016

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!