Land tenure and availability


This guide outlines the types of land tenure that exist in the Northern Territory (NT) and how tenure affects the process for granting a title.

There are three main types of land tenure:

Most land in the NT, outside of townships, is either Aboriginal freehold or pastoral leasehold land over which native title rights can exist. 

There are areas of land that are subject to reservations that may restrict certain activities:

In some areas all three reservations may apply. There is also currently a moratorium on seabed mining.

An application for a title may be made over any land in the NT by following the relevant procedures set out in the legislation. In some cases there may be a valid reason for an application to be refused over certain areas.

Read more about land availability.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 04 February 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.