Magpie geese and waterfowl season dates

This page has the latest information on the 2019 waterfowl hunting season in the Northern Territory (NT).

If you have a permit you can hunt waterfowl for 15 weeks from 25 September 2019 until 6 January 2020.

Daily bag limit

During the declared season the limit for magpie geese is seven birds per person, per day.

The daily bag limit for other listed waterfowl is 10 birds per person, per day.

The maximum allowable number of dead animals in a person's possession is as follows:

  • away from the person's place of residence is 21 magpie geese and 30 other listed birds
  • at the person's place of residence, the number is unlimited.

Hunting hours

You can only shoot during certain hours of each day:

  • September - 6am to 7pm
  • October - 6am to 7pm
  • November - 5:45am to 7:15pm
  • December - 5:45am to 7:30pm
  • January - 6am to 7:30pm.

Closing dates

The hunting season closes on the following dates:

Howard Springs Hunting Reserve and Lambells Lagoon Conservation Reserve - 7:30pm on 23 December 2019.

All other areas including hunting reserves, Crown land and private property - 7:30pm on 6 January 2020.

Animals under this permit

Scientific name Common name
Anseranas semipalmata Magpie goose
Anas superciliosa Pacific black duck
Anas gracilis Grey teal
Aythya australis Hardhead duck (also known as white-eyed duck)
Chenonetta jubata Maned duck (also known as wood duck)
Dendrocygna arcuata Wandering whistling duck (also known as water whistle duck)
Dendrocygna eytoni Plumed whistling duck (also known as grass whistle duck)
Malacorhynchus membranaceus Pink-eared duck

NT Hunting Mate app

You can download the NT Hunting Mate app to access waterfowl hunting rules and information on your phone.

Last updated: 20 March 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.