Water drilling licences

Water licence classes

The class of licence is chosen by the type of aquifer systems in which the driller may operate: 

  • class 1 includes single non-flowing aquifer systems
  • class 1 restricted includes single non-flowing aquifer systems that are restricted to geotech and monitoring bores to a maximum depth of 30m
  • class 2 includes multiple non-flowing aquifer systems
  • class 3 includes flowing aquifer systems within the Great Artesian Basin
  • class 3 restricted includes flowing aquifer systems that are not in the Great Artesian Basin.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 05 February 2019

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.