Services to remote communities and homelands

Find out what services are provided to remote communities and homelands below.

Remote communities

The Northern Territory Government coordinates essential services to 72 remote Aboriginal communities.

For a list of services in your community, go to the Bushtel website.


Homelands are remote areas where small populations of Aboriginal people live on lands they have traditional ownership or historical information. They are sometimes called outstations.

There are about 500 homelands in the Northern Territory with a total of 2,400 homes.

Around 10,000 people live on homelands, while others have a small family group.

The Homelands Program contributes to the delivery of municipal and essential services. It also contributes to housing maintenance that supports people to live on homelands.

The program does this by funding service providers to help homelands residents with municipal and essential services, and housing maintenance.

To read more about how services are provided to homelands, go to the Department of Territory Families, Housing and Communities website.

Last updated: 24 September 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.