The Cabinet

Cabinet is made up of Northern Territory Government (NTG) ministers.

They are responsible for areas of government, known as portfolios.

Cabinet’s role is to discuss and decide major policy and financial decisions for the government.

Cabinet usually meets weekly in Darwin. Regular community meetings are also held in other parts of the NT.

Executives and officers from NTG agencies support Cabinet by providing advice to ministers.

Before making decisions, Cabinet consults appropriate agencies for advice.

Cabinet Secretary

The chief executive officer of the Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet is the current Cabinet Secretary.

The Cabinet Secretary’s role is to:

  • advise the Chief Minister on the flow of Cabinet business
  • attend Cabinet meetings and recording its decisions
  • approve any changes to consultation or distribution requirements for Cabinet submissions.

Chief Minister

Hon Natasha Fyles MLA

Minister for Health
Minister for Alcohol Policy
Minister for Major Projects
Minister for Defence



Hon Nicole Susan Manison MLA

Deputy Chief Minister
Minister for Tourism and Hospitality
Minister for Parks and Rangers
Minister for Advanced Manufacturing
Minister for Mining and Industry
Minister for Northern Australia and Trade


Hon Eva Dina Lawler MLA

Minister for Education
Minister for Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics
Minister for Territory Development


Hon Lauren Jane Moss MLA

Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water Security
Minister for Mental Health and Suicide Prevention
Minister for Equality and Inclusion
Minister for Youth
Minister for Seniors


Hon Selena Jane Malijarri Uibo MLA

Minister for Housing and Homelands
Minister for Renewables and Energy 
Minister for Essential Services 
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs
Minister for Treaty and Local Decision Making


Hon Paul Andrew Kirby MLA

Minister for Business, Jobs and Training
Minister for Agribusiness and Fisheries
Minister for Public Employment
Minister for Major Events 
Minister for Veterans' Affairs


Hon Kate Jane Worden MLA

Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services
Minister for Territory Families
Minister for Prevention of Domestic, Family and Sexual Violence
Minister for Sport


Hon Chanston (Chansey) James Paech MLA

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice
Minister for Racing, Gaming and Licensing 
Minister for Local Government 
Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage
Minister for Desert Knowledge Australia


Hon Ngaree Jane Ah Kit MLA

Minister for Corporate and Digital Development
Minister for International Education
Minister for Disabilities
Minister for Multicultural Affairs


Last updated: 20 June 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!