Royal Commission established

On the 28th of July 2016, the Commonwealth Government established a Royal Commission into the child protection and youth detention systems of the Northern Territory. The Royal Commission will be conducted jointly with the Northern Territory Government.

The Hon Margaret White and Mr Mick Gooda have been announced as joint Royal Commissioners and are due to report by 31st March 2017. The Commissioners have indicated they will hold a directions hearing on 6 September 2016.

The Royal Commission has been established to enable the swift inquiry into the treatment of children and young persons detained in youth detention facilities administered by the Government of the Northern Territory, in particular the Don Dale Youth Detention Centre.

It will make recommendations about legal, cultural, administrative and management reforms to prevent inappropriate treatment of children and young persons in detention, and what improvements can be made to the child protection system including the identification of early intervention options and pathways for children at risk of engaging in anti-social behaviour.

Go to the Royal Commission website for more information.

Last updated: 04 August 2016


Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.