Nominations for Racing Commission membership

Territorians are invited to play a key role in supporting the Northern Territory (NT) racing industry by nominating for membership to the Racing Commission.

The commission is established under section 6 of the Racing and Betting Act 1983 and is responsible for:

  • the licensing and regulating bookmakers, including sports bookmakers
  • resolving betting disputes and writing complex decision notices
  • overseeing greyhound racing, and
  • investigating matters relating to racing in the NT.

The commission is supported by Licensing NT, Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade.

The Minister for Racing, Gaming and Licensing invites nominations from suitable persons with knowledge of, and experience in, the racing industry. Six positions are available, including chairperson, for a three year term. An appointed member is eligible for re-appointment.

Nominations, including full details of qualifications, experience and resume should be forwarded to by 21 May 2021.

Section 8 of the Racing and Betting Act 1983 establishes who does not qualify for appointment.

For more information contact:

Travis TeWhata
Manager Compliance, Gambling and Racing, Licensing NT
Phone: 08 8935 7592

Last updated: 04 May 2021

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!