New Appointments to Support Recreational Fishing

There are two new voices for recreational fishing in the Territory as Greg Ireland and Samantha Wigg join the NT Recreational Fishing Advisory Committee, along with the re-appointment of three existing committee members.

The Recreational Fishing Advisory Committee is a non-statutory body that provides expert advice to the Territory Government on important matters and opportunities in the Territory’s recreational fishing community.

The appointments come after an expression of interest process seeking nominations from Territorians keen to contribute to the management, development and future of recreational fishing in the Northern Territory.

The new members appointed for three year terms include:

  • Greg Ireland – CEO Chamber of Commerce and recreational angler; and
  • Samantha Wigg – Founder of the Girls Gone Fishing’ annual fishing tournament on the Daly River and passionate recreational angler.

The new appointees join existing members who have been reappointed for a further two years and include:

  • Alex Julius who has been re-appointed for a further two years. Mr Julius is one of the founding committee members and the director of Alex Julius Fishing. He has previously held member and president roles with the Amateur Fishermen’s Association of the NT (AFANT).
  • Kristen Noble – Coordinator of recreational fishing events, including SWB Barra Challenge and Buddy Boats Day. She is also a member of AFANT and Palmerston Game Fishing Club.
  • Ronald Voukolos – Fishing and Outdoor World business owner and recreational angler.

Recreational Fishing Advisory Committee positions are voluntary with a total of 12 members on the committee.

The remaining committee members include an Amateur Fishermen’s Association of the Northern Territory (AFANT) representative, Northern Territory Guided Fishing Industry Association (NTGFIA) representative and 5 other members, including the Chair, Mr Matt Barwick.