‘Welcome to the Territory’ incentives

The Northern Territory Government’s ‘Welcome to the Territory’ incentives will boost the Territory’s population and create more jobs.

The ‘Welcome to the Territory’ incentives are part of the Northern Territory Population Growth Strategy 2018 – 2028, which aims to create 21 000 jobs and boost the Territory’s economy by $10 billion over the next ten years, by returning the population growth rate to historical averages.

The incentive incorporates:

  • New Territorian Relocation Bonus (up to $7000)
  • Local Spending Benefit (up to $1250)
  • 5 Year Retention Bonus (up to $7000)

The New Territorian Bonus, paid upon arrival in the Territory, will assist with costs associated with relocation and transition to the Territory.

The Local Spending Benefit will be paid in instalments to be spent here in the Territory on lifestyle experiences including our great cafés and restaurants, tourism adventures or assist with the cost of living, including child care payments or vehicle registration and licensing.

To encourage long term retention, a 5 Year Retention Bonus is available after 5 years’ continuous residency in the Northern Territory. The money must be spent locally for purposes that benefit a long-term resident such as garden supplies, repairs and maintenance, white goods or other eligible products/ services etc.

The targeted incentives will apply to women aged between 20 and 39 years and people aged between 55 and 65 years who apply for jobs on the High Priority Occupations list.

To be eligible, applicants must secure a job in the Territory for a minimum of 12 months and not have lived in the Territory during the two years preceding the date of application. Jobs with the Northern Territory Public Sector and self-employed and entrepreneurs starting a new business are not eligible for the program.

The Territory is home to people from across Australia and the world. We welcome anyone looking for new opportunities and a vibrant community to call home.

Full program details will be released on 1 October 2018, with applications opening from 1 November 2018.

For further information go to the website.