Winners announced - Northern Territory Literary Awards

The winners of the prestigious 2016 Northern Territory (NT) Literary Awards have been announced during an official ceremony at Parliament House.

The 2016 awards attracted almost 300 entries across the seven categories, including poetry, essays, short stories and travel writing, theatre scripts, flash fiction and a youth category.

The winners received cash prizes, an NT Writers’ Centre membership and master class attendance.

Minister for Arts and Museums Gary Higgins congratulated the seven winners on winning their respective categories.

The Northern Territory Library has run the awards since 2002, with the support of its sponsors.

2016 Northern Territory Literacy Award winners:

ZipPrint Short Story Award: Johanna Bell, Turning back

NT Writers Centre Poetry Award: Leni Shilton, Into the West - Bertha Strehlow's journey to Piltadi

Charles Darwin University Travel Short Story Award: Fernanda Dahlstrom, God Willing

Charles Darwin University Essay Award: Adelle Sefton-Rowston, Cleansing and Catharsis: The River as Metaphor in Tony Birch's Ghost River

Kath Manzie Youth Award: Ashleigh Abram, Visiting Hours

Browns Mart Theatre Award: Sandra Thibodeaux, The Age of Bones - Jaman Belulang

Southern Cross Flash Fiction: Oliver Kent Coulter, Outpatient

Read more about the NT Literacy Awards.

Finalists of the ZipPrint Short Story Award, left to right, Karen Manton, Kaye Aldenhoven, Johanna Bell, Shona Ford and Rob Gane from ZipPrint, sponsor of the NT Literary Awards.