Scientific Inquiry into Hydraulic Fracturing in the NT: Final Terms of Reference and Inquiry Panel announced

The Honourable Justice Rachel Pepper will chair the independent Scientific Inquiry into Hydraulic Fracturing of onshore unconventional reservoirs and associated activities in the Northern Territory.

Following consideration of the public submissions received during government consultation on the draft terms of reference, the scope of the Inquiry has been broadened to include consideration of other activities that are associated with hydraulic fracturing, such as water acquisition and treatment of wastewater.

The Inquiry will recommend a process for identifying priority areas for no go zones and consider the economic, cultural and social impacts and risks of the onshore unconventional gas industry more broadly.

Members of the chosen expert panel have combined scientific experience of over 300 years in disciplines such as water, geology, ecology, health, sociology and engineering.

The panel members are:

  • Dr Alan Andersen (NT)
  • Peta Ashworth (QLD)
  • Dr Vaughan Beck (VIC)
  • Ms Jane Coram (ACT)
  • Professor Barry Hart (VIC)
  • Dr David Jones (QLD)
  • Professor Peter McCabe (SA)
  • Professor Brian Priestly (VIC/SA)
  • Dr Ross Smith (QLD)
  • Dr David Ritchie (NT)

The inaugural meeting of the panel will be held on 8 December 2016 and will determine the consultation schedule and proposed timeline of the Inquiry.For more information and to register for updates about the Inquiry go to the Fracking Inquiry website.

Scientific Inquiry into Hydraulic Fracturing in the NT.