Larapinta Trail links and contacts

This page has key contact information and useful resources for the Larapinta Trail.

If you are a tour operator interested in running tours of any kind along the trail, you must contact Parks and Wildlife.

Key contacts

Larapinta Trail contacts are listed in the table below.

Company Phone Email Website
Parks and Wildlife (08) 8951 8250 larapinta.trail@nt.gov.au NA
Tourism Central Australia visitor information centre (08) 8952 5800 or
1800 645 199
info@discoverca.com.audiscovercentralaustralia.com
Tourism NT 13 67 68 or
(08) 8951 8471
info@travelnt.comtravelnt.com

Transport and food drops

You can contact any of the companies in the table below to organise food drops or transport along the trail.

Company Phone Email Website
Alice Wanderer (08) 8952 2111 info@alicewanderer.com.aualicewanderer.wpengine.com
Emu Run 1800 687 220 info@emurun.com.auemurun.com.au
Glen Helen Lodge (08) 8956 7489info@glenhelenlodge.com.auglenhelenlodge.com.au
Larapinta Trail Trek Support NANAlarapintatrailtreksupport.com.au
Outback Elite Tours0429 263 437info@outbackelitetours.comoutbackelitetours.com
Tailormade Tours (08) 8952 1731
tours@tailormadetours.com.autailormadetours.com.au
World Expeditions 1300 720 000 adventure@worldexpeditions.com.aularapintatrailwalk.com.au

Guided walks

You can contact any of the companies in the table below to organise guided walks along the Larapinta Trail.

Company Phone Email Website
Epicurious Travel(03) 9380 6411tours@epicurioustravel.com.auepicurioustravel.com.au
Life's an Adventure (02) 9975 4553 enquiries@lifesanadventure.com.aulifesanadventure.com.au
Trek Larapinta

1300 133 278

info@treklarapinta.com.autreklarapinta.com.au
Walking Country (08) 8953 7045 reservations@walkingcountry.com.auwalkingcountry.com.au
Willis's Walkabouts (08) 8985 2134 walkabout@bushwalkingholidays.com.aubushwalkingholidays.com.au
World Expeditions 1300 720 000 adventure@worldexpeditions.com.aularapintatrailwalk.com.au

Locators and emergency equipment

You can contact any of the companies in the table below to book a locator beacon, satellite phone or other emergency equipment.

Company Equipment Phone Email Website
Bushwalking Blog PLBs NA neil_fahey@hotmail.combushwalkingblog.com.au/plb-hire
Central Communications Satellite phones (08) 8952 2388 sales@centralcomms.com.aucentralcomms.com.au
EPIRB Hire EPIRB, PLB and satellite phones (02) 4997 8183 info@epirbhire.com.auepirbhire.com.au
XLCOM Satellite phones and PLBs (08) 8955 5455 info@xlcom.com.auxlcom.com.au
Adventure Rentals PLBs 0431 176 282 adventurentals@gmail.comadventurentals.com/contact
Larapinta Trail Trek Support PLBs and Satellite phonesNA NAlarapintatrailtreksupport.com.au


Websites

You can go to the following websites to find out more about the Larapinta Trail.

Company Website Phone
Alice Springs Town Council alicesprings.nt.gov.au NA
Bureau of Meteorology bom.gov.au NA
Glen Helen Lodgeglenhelenlodge.com.au(08) 8956 7489
Larapinta Trail larapintatrail.com.au NA
Old Hamilton Downs Homestead hamiltondownsyouthcamp.org.au (08) 8956 8613 or
1300 660 095
Standley Chasm standleychasm.com.au (08) 8956 7440
Tourism Central Australiadiscovercentralaustralia.com(08) 8952 5800 or
1800 645 199 
Tourism NT tourismnt.com.au NA

You can also visit the Friends of the Larapinta Trail Facebook page.

|

  • A Field Guide to Central Australia - A Natural History Companion for the Traveller. Penny van Oosterzee (1995) Reed Books
  • A Guide to the Geology and Landforms of Central Australia. R. Thompson (1991) Government Printer of the Northern Territory
  • Bushfires and Bushtucker. Aboriginal Plant Use in Central Australia. Peter Latz (1995) IAD Press
  • Keeping Company - an inter-cultural conversation. Christine Franks and Barbara Curr (1996) University of Wollongong
  • Larapinta Trail. John Chapman and Monica Chapman (2007) www.john.chapman.name\pub-lara.html
  • Lost from Our Landscape. Threatened Species of the Northern Territory. Edited by J. Woinarski, C. Pavey, R. Kerrigan, I. Cowie and S. Ward (2007) NT Government
  • Take a Walk in Northern Territory's National Parks. John and Lyn Daly (2007) www.takeawalk.com.au
  • The Centre - The Natural History of Australia's Desert Regions Penny van Oosterzee (1991) Reed Books
  • The Flaming Desert. Arid Australia - A Fire Shaped Landscape. Peter Latz (2007) NT Print Management
  • Wildflowers and Plants of Inland Australia. Anne Urban (1996) Paul Fitzsimons Publishers
  • Wildlife Identikit. Peter King and Gerry O'Neil (1995) Conservation Commission of the NT.

Last updated: 09 May 2018

Share:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.