Larapinta Trail walking grades

Each section of the Larapinta Trail has been rated by level of difficulty according to the Australian Walking Track Grading System. See the table below.

The sections are at least 12.5km in length. You will need an adequate fitness level to finish each section.

Read about walking track grades.

1 Alice Springs Telegraph Station to Simpsons Gap
4 - moderate to difficult
2 Simpsons Gap to Jay Creek
4 - moderate to difficult
3 Jay Creek to Standley Chasm
4 - moderate to difficult
4 Standley Chasm to Birthday Waterhole
5 - difficult
5 Birthday Waterhole to Hugh Gorge
5 - difficult
6 Hugh Gorge to Ellery Creek
4 - moderate to difficult
7 Ellery Creek to Serpentine Gorge
4 - moderate to difficult
8 Serpentine Gorge to Serpentine Chalet Dam
4 - moderate to difficult
9 Serpentine Chalet Dam to Ormiston Gorge
5 - difficult
10 Ormiston Gorge to Finke River
3 - moderate
11 Finke River to Redbank Gorge
4 - moderate to difficult
12 Redbank Gorge to Mt Sonder return
4 - moderate to difficult

Last updated: 05 June 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.