Eradication zones

The Northern Territory (NT) is divided into management zones for the banana freckle eradication program.

Red zones

Red zones are areas where banana freckle was found. There are six red zones in the NT. The largest covers the Darwin and Palmerston area.

You must not move banana plants into, out of or within a red zone without a permit.

Below is the list of all of the red zones:

  • Darwin with all premises north of Manton Dam, west to the NT coastline, and east of Marrakai
  • Rum Jungle / Batchelor
  • Dundee Beach
  • Daly River / Nauiyu
  • Milikapiti
  • Ramingining.

Green zones

Green zones are areas where banana freckle has not been found.

Map of eradication zones

For more information about where the eradication zones are, refer to the map of eradication zones.

Click on each map to see a larger version of the image.

Zone 1

Zone 1 (2.4 mb)

Zone 2

Zone 2 (1.1 mb)

Zone 3

Zone 3 (1.2 mb)

Zone 4

Zone 4 (752.8 kb)

Zone 5

Zone 5 (1.2 mb)

Zone 6

Zone 6 (865.6 kb)

Zone - all

All zones (2.2 mb)

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 27 June 2017