Australian Warning System

The Australian Warning System (AWS) helps you stay safe during a bushfire or other emergency in the Northern Territory (NT).

It is a national system that provides information and warnings for hazards like bushfires, extreme heat, floods, cyclones and severe weather.

The AWS delivers consistent warnings so you know what to do when you see a warning level.

Features of the AWS

The AWS has the following features:

  • a nationally consistent set of icons for each hazard
  • a visually optimised 3-tiered warnings system
  • 3 colours that represent each warning level to show the increasing risk:
    • yellow - advice: Stay up to date
    • orange - watch and act: Start taking action
    • red - emergency warning: Act immediately
  • each warning level has a set of action statements.

For a visual of the bushfire warnings, watch the video clip below.

For more information about the AWS icons and warning levels, go to the Australian Disaster Resilience website.

Rollout schedule in the NT

In the NT, the AWS is currently in place for bushfires and extreme heat.

The AWS will be phased in for other hazards such as floods, cyclones and severe weather by October 2023.

Warnings outside the NT

You should refer to the websites in each state or territory to find out how to stay informed during an emergency.

More information

For all Bushfires NT alerts, go to the NT Fire Incident Map.

For all alerts and warnings, go to the SecureNT website.


For more information, email

Last updated: 14 October 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!