Road safety audits

A road safety audit is a formal assessment of an existing or future road.

A road safety audit is required as part of the road design and construction process or for issues on existing roads to improve safety.

All road safety audits will be undertaken in accordance with national practice in Austroads publication – Road Safety Audit (2002).

The information provided below is for engineering consultants undertaking road safety audits on Northern Territory Government roads.

Stages in a road safety audit

The following stages are followed for a road safety audit:

Stage 1: Feasibility design
Stage 2: Preliminary design
Stage 3: Detail design
Stage 4: Pre-opening design 
Stage 5: Existing roads

Appropriate consideration will be given to vulnerable road users and for unique traffic conditions that exist in the NT.

Consultants should also refer to technical references for industry professionals.

The NT Government will direct which stages will be undertaken for all projects including any of the following:

  • a new road is proposed
  • a road is to be realigned or upgraded
  • a change to the movement of traffic is proposed
  • a change to the arrangement of traffic control devices is proposed
  • there may be a change in the traffic generated by a development adjacent to a road.  

Capital road works

Generally the following stages will be required:

  • Stage 3 as a minimum
  • Stage 1 to Stage 4 depending on the project's scope and complexity.

Urban and intersection road works

Generally the following will be required:

  • Stage 3
  • Stage 4.

Pavement rehabilitation and major maintenance items

Generally a Stage 2 audit will be required (on the existing road).

If the Department of Transport initiates projects, it will assess the project complexity and determine whether additional audits are appropriate.

Private developments

Private developments should undertake road safety audits as outlined above.

Developers should contact Department of Transport by emailing

Also refer to permission to access government roads.

Last updated: 28 November 2017