Government, departments

Only capitalise the name of a government when using its official title.

     ✔ Northern Territory Government 

     ✔ NT Government - read more about using acronyms

     ✔ government

     X NT government or Territory Government

     X Government

Use Australian Government, not Federal or Commonwealth.

Federal Government departments should be referred to as 'Australian Government Department of xx':

  • Australian Government Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
  • Australian Government Department of Transport.

When linking to Australian Government websites use the following style:

Last updated: 28 November 2017