

Government Gazette

ISSN-0157-833X

No. S4

16 January 2025



Northern Territory of Australia

Livestock Act 2008

Revocation of Declaration and Declaration of Zones for Control of Cattle Ticks

I, Gerard Phillip Maley, Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries:

- (a) under section 58(1)(c) of the *Livestock Act 2008* and with reference to section 43 of the *Interpretation Act 1978*, revoke the declaration made by the instrument entitled 'Revocation of Declaration and Declaration of Zones for Control of Cattle Ticks' dated 6 September 2022 and published in *Gazette* No. G37 of 14 September 2022; and
- (b) under section 58(1)(c) of the *Livestock Act 2008*:
 - (i) for the control of the notifiable disease cattle ticks (Parkhurst strain), which is an endemic disease, declare the area of land described in Schedule 1 and shown stippled on the map in Schedule 3 to be the Parkhurst Infected Zone; and

(ii) for the control of the notifiable disease cattle ticks (*Rhipicephalus microplus* and *Rhipicephalus australis*) in tick free areas, which is an endemic disease, declare each area of land described in Schedule 2 to be the type of zone named opposite the area in Schedule 2.

G. P. MALEY Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries

Dated 7 January 2025

Schedule 1

Firstly, all that area of land in the Northern Territory of Australia that is west, north and east of the boundary described as follows:

Commencing at a point at the mouth of the East Alligator River and NT Portion 1663, then generally south-easterly and southerly by the low water mark of the western bank of the East Alligator River to its intersection at longitude 133 degrees 0 minutes 4 seconds east and the eastern boundary of NT Portion 1662, then generally south along the eastern boundary of NT Portion 1662 (Kakadu), then south along the eastern boundary, west along the southern boundary, north along the western boundary and west along the southern boundary of NT Portion 4774, then west along the southern boundaries of NT Portions 220,1631 and 1630 to the eastern boundary of NT Portion 7123 then south, east, south along the western boundary of NT Portion 709 (Jindare) then west along the northern boundarv of NT Portion 709 (Jindare) along then south the western boundary of NT Portion 709 (Jindare) and then west along the northern boundary of NT Portion 5919 (Wagiman) to the Daly River and then north-west along the Daly River to and west along the southern boundary of NT Portion 3435 then south along the eastern boundary of NT Portion 3435 then west along the southern boundaries of NT Portion 3435 and NT Portion 2700 then north along the western boundaries of NT Portion 2700 and NT Portion 1666 to the Daly River and then north-west along the Daly River to the coastline of the Timor Sea.

Secondly, commencing at a point approximately 12 degrees 11 minutes 39 seconds south latitude, and 132 degrees 47 minutes 27 seconds longitude coinciding with the low water mark on the East Alligator River, then on a bearing of 66 degrees and 18 minutes for a distance of 11.62 km more or less then on a bearing of 27 degrees 59 minutes for a distance of 10.61 km more or less then on a bearing of 27 degrees 43 minutes for a distance of 3 km more or less to intersect with Cooper Creek then in an east and south direction along Cooper Creek to the Oenpelli/Maningrida Road then in a west and south-west direction along the centreline of the Oenpelli/Maningrida Road to the Arnhem Highway/Oenpelli Road then in a south-west direction along the centreline of the eastern boundary of NT Portion 1662 (East Alligator River), then generally northerly and north-westerly by the eastern bank of the East Alligator River to the point of commencement.

Zone	Area of land
Infected Zone	The area of land in the Territory shown unstippled, unhatched and unshaded on the map in Schedule 3 and including the following:
	(a) PPL 1014 (known as Cresswell Downs), PPL 1015 (known as Walhallow), PPL 1018 (known as Mungabroom) and PPL 1059 (known as Beetaloo);
	(b) NTP 2006 (owned by Waanyi/Garawa Aboriginal Land Trust) and NTP 3918, NTP 3919, NTP 3920, NTP 3921, NTP 3922, NTP 3923, NTP 3924, NTP 3925, NTP 3926, NTP 3927, NTP 3928, NTP 3929, NTP 3930, NTP 3931, NTP 3932, NTP 3933, NTP 3934, NTP 3935 and NTP 3936 (owned by Wampaya Association Incorporated).
Control Zone	The area of land in the Territory shown hatched on the map in Schedule 3 and including PPL 947 (known as Newcastle Waters), PPL 948 (known as Powell Creek), PPL 949 (known as Tandyidgee), PPL 963 (known as Benmara), PPL 1017 (known as Eva Downs), PPL 1072 (known as Ucharonidge), PPL 1074 (known as Murranji), and part of PPL 3861 (known as Anthony Lagoon).
Free Zone	The area of land in the Territory shown shaded on the map in Schedule 3 and consisting of the following:
	 (a) land south of the northern boundaries of PPL 925 (known as Brunette Downs), PPL 1001 (known as Helen Springs), part of PPL 1016 (known as Anthony Lagoon), PPL 1033 (known as Mittiebah) and PPL 1034 (known as Mount Drummond);
	(b) land south of the southern boundaries of PPL 948 (known as Powell Creek), PPL 1002 (known as Wave Hill), PPL 1003 (known as Cattle Creek), PPL 1012 (known as Birrindudu), PPL 1017 (known as Eva Downs), PPL 1029 (known as Wallamunga), PPL 1074 (known as Murranji), PPL 1076 (known as Dungowan) and NTP 679 and NTP 1643 (known as Hooker Creek).

Schedule 2

In this Schedule:

NTP means Northern Territory Portion.

PPL means Perpetual Pastoral Lease.

Schedule 3

